Call for Percival Allen Medal

The Percival Allen Medal Award Committee invites submissions for this award, given biennially to a geoscientist for outstanding achievements in the field of international relations in Earth Science. The award was established 2006 by the AEGS Executive Committee and is named for Prof. Percival Allen FRS, one of the AEGS’s founders.

Other than a distinguished record in fostering international relations in geoscience, there are no special eligibility criteria. The Award Committee will make its decision in January of each odd-numbered year and announce the laureate at the next Meeting of AEGS in the same year. Only proposals reaching the AEGS Secretary before 30 November of each even-numbered year will be considered.

Dates of open call:

* Proposals due: 30 November 2008
* Decision: 31 January 2009
* Award: 9-13 July 2009

Nominations for the Award, with accompanying documentation, should be submitted electronically to the AEGS Secretary via email in PDF format. We do not require any special formatting.

AEGS Secretary PD Dr. Jens Wiegand
Deutsche Montan Technology
Exploration and Geosurvey Division
Am Technologiepark 1
45307 Essen
Phone: +49-201-1721991
Fax: +49-201-1721970
e-mail: Jens Wiegand